Small Business

Fraser Valley cities launch mobile business licences

Fri Nov 9, 2012 10:00am PST

Nine Fraser Valley municipalities announced November 8 that they had agreed to adopt a common bylaw to allow business owners to purchase a one-year, intermunicipal business licence for specific trades.

The civic governments involved in the initiatives include the:

  • City of Langley;
  • Township of Langley;
  • City of Surrey;
  • City of Abbotsford;
  • City of Chilliwack;
  • District of Mission;
  • District of Maple Ridge;
  • City of Pitt Meadows; and
  • District of Hope.

The initiative is expected to reduce red tape and allow mobile businesses to operate in more than one municipality by purchasing one licence, rather than by obtaining non-resident permits in each municipality in which they operate.

The Fraser Valley municipalities follow in the footsteps of 17 communities in the Okanagan-Similkameen region, which successfully piloted the program in 2007 and has since expanded to be a group of 19 civic governments.

The Surrey Board of Trade started lobbying for the licensing change back in March.

"By allowing businesses to obtain one licence that can be used in multiple municipalities, we are cutting red tape, simplifying processes and helping to foster a competitive environment for investment," said Surrey mayor Dianne Watts.


Tags: municipality, Dianne Watts, Surrey, Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Langley, licensing agreement, Maple Ridge

Things You Might Like »



Lists & Data

Comments »

NOTE: In order to comment, you must be a registered user and be logged into your user account. If you do not have a account, you may register here. If you have one of the following accounts: Google, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID, you are also able to comment, just click "Post as" button and then log into one of these services via Disqus.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Featured Video

Popular News

Upcoming Events